Close Menu
Tech News VisionTech News Vision
  • Home
  • What’s On
  • Mobile
  • Computers
  • Gadgets
  • Apps
  • Gaming
  • How To
  • More
    • Web Stories
    • Global
    • Press Release

Subscribe to Updates

Get the latest tech news and updates directly to your inbox.

Trending Now
Omega Has New Bond Watches Even If There Isn’t a New James Bond

Omega Has New Bond Watches Even If There Isn’t a New James Bond

5 October 2026
Turing Institute CEO says UK should ‘embrace cheaper AI models’

Turing Institute CEO says UK should ‘embrace cheaper AI models’

5 October 2026
Review: Withings BodyScan 2

Review: Withings BodyScan 2

5 October 2026
Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
  • Privacy
  • Terms
  • Advertise
  • Contact
Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest VKontakte
Tech News VisionTech News Vision
  • Home
  • What’s On
  • Mobile
  • Computers
  • Gadgets
  • Apps
  • Gaming
  • How To
  • More
    • Web Stories
    • Global
    • Press Release
Tech News VisionTech News Vision
Home » iOS code could reportedly let Apple cut off apps when users miss iPhone payments
What's On

iOS code could reportedly let Apple cut off apps when users miss iPhone payments

News RoomBy News Room22 July 2026No Comments
Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email
iOS code could reportedly let Apple cut off apps when users miss iPhone payments

Code found in an iOS 27 beta would allow Apple to put a financed iPhone in “Restricted Mode” if it detects any missed payments, 9to5Mac reports. The finding follows a story from Bloomberg earlier this week claiming Apple is preparing to launch a new “Apple Upgrade” financing program for leasing new devices.

iPhones in “Restricted Mode” would reportedly lose access to nearly all apps, except for basics like the Phone app, Settings, and the App Store. It uses a new “App Managed Features” system that allows financing or partner apps to continually check if a financed device is in good standing.

According to 9to5Mac, the code also includes a new “Partner Finance Lock” intended to block users from “erasing, reselling, or stripping a restricted device for parts.” While the feature is part of Find My, it reportedly doesn’t give financing partners access to the phone’s location.

This is from a beta version of iOS 27, so it’s possible this code and the new “Restricted Mode” could get changed or removed before Apple officially releases iOS 27. The “Apple Upgrade” program hasn’t been officially announced yet, either. Apple did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email

Related Posts

Measuring AI With the Wrong Ruler

Measuring AI With the Wrong Ruler

5 October 2026
TCL’s paperlike OLED phone made me more excited for the iPhone Duo

TCL’s paperlike OLED phone made me more excited for the iPhone Duo

5 October 2026
Staples Print and Marketing Services Review: Fast Holiday Gifts

Staples Print and Marketing Services Review: Fast Holiday Gifts

5 October 2026
Internet Watch Foundation reports over 40% rise in AI-generated child sexual abuse content

Internet Watch Foundation reports over 40% rise in AI-generated child sexual abuse content

5 October 2026
Editors Picks
Measuring AI With the Wrong Ruler

Measuring AI With the Wrong Ruler

5 October 2026
TCL’s paperlike OLED phone made me more excited for the iPhone Duo

TCL’s paperlike OLED phone made me more excited for the iPhone Duo

5 October 2026
Staples Print and Marketing Services Review: Fast Holiday Gifts

Staples Print and Marketing Services Review: Fast Holiday Gifts

5 October 2026
Internet Watch Foundation reports over 40% rise in AI-generated child sexual abuse content

Internet Watch Foundation reports over 40% rise in AI-generated child sexual abuse content

5 October 2026

Subscribe to Updates

Get the latest tech news and updates directly to your inbox.

Trending Now
Tech News Vision
Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest Vimeo YouTube
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of use
  • Advertise
  • Contact
© 2026 Tech News Vision. All Rights Reserved.

Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.